Inverquharity Castle, Angus
One of the finest and most entire baronial buildings in Angus. The original L-plan tower house was built in the early 1440s by the Ogilvy family who owned the property till the late 18th Century.
Inverquharity Castle occupies a commanding position in the surrounding landscape and is approached over a private drive with a bridge over the Carity Burn. The original tower house dates from the 1440's and was restored and extended in the 1960/70's.
The front door is protected by an iron yett, the licence for which was granted by King James II and this opens into the main entrance hall. At this level there is also a morning room with fireplace and also an historic well, together with a cloakroom and store. From the hall a timber staircase leads to a stunning dining room with vaulted ceiling from where there is access to the kitchen/breakfast room.
The turnpike staircase leads to the second floor and the Great Hall with a magnificent fireplace and a small mural chamber. Also at this level is a bedroom suite with dressing room and bathroom. At third floor level there is a master bedroom with en suite bathroom, two further bedrooms and a shower room. The castle stands in about 11 acres.
Inverquharity Castle is conveniently placed for the A90 dual carriageway giving easy access to Dundee and Aberdeen and is also well placed for the Angus towns including Forfar, Brechin and Kirriemuir.
Offers over £550,000; contact selling agents Knight Frank on 0131 222 9600 or visit knightfrank.com.
See Inverquharity Castle past and present.